Accept Yourself

Image credit: “safe” – © 2007 Paul Keller – made available under Attribution 2.0 Generic

So what would you say about this safe? I saw it and it got me to thinking…  It reminds me that we have no choice in what is done to us, but we do have a choice in how we choose to respond. It is said that with PTSD you recover a lot quicker if you don’t use avoidance to numb your pain. the avoidance only buries the pain. It doesn’t heal it. Only exposing it and dealing with it, can healing begin. It is like a scraped knee. take it and clean it up right away and it will hurt but it will be fine. If you don’t and it was badly scraped, it will get infected and will need more work and hurt more to clean it up after it started to become infected.

When we accept our pain, it hurts less. Before my brain injury, I was a total extrovert. A social butterfly. I was loud, gaudy, extravagant and extremely social. I loved people and was a real people person. I still love people and care deeply for them but I am an introvert. Where I was once the life of the party and loved to socialize, I now have no use for small talk. I am uncomfortable at parties and I struggle to fit in.

Rather than resisting my pain, and so creating my own suffering, It would behoove me to accept my authentic self—My experience of who I really am and what I am really struggling with. The loss of who I was before the accident. In doing this, I can develop self-acceptance and self-compassion. For instance, when I as an introvert accept my introversion, I can feel good about myself; whether or not I decide to work on developing more social interactions. I can also be compassionate to my own struggles with attending parties. 

I challenge you today to be authentic and accept yourself. Give yourself the gift of compassion.

1 Comment

October 16, 2013 · 12:04 am

One response to “Accept Yourself

Leave a Reply

