Never Give Up!

 

Never quit

I have found that there are four things that are very important in life. Wonder,  Truth, Love, Security. As children we have this innocence that really encapsulates our sense of wonder. It is very easy to lose our sense of wonder. Getting out my telescope as a child and staring into the night sky would always fill me with such a sense of wonder. Seeing a sunset, getting a surprise gift, a letter in the mail, someone allowing me to cut in line at the grocery when I am in a hurry; these all provide me with a sense of wonder as an adult.

It is important that we don’t lose our ability to see the wonder in life. When tragedy hits it creates tension between our trust and our pain. Tragedy teaches us that we are not in control. In the bible, Job was struck with tragedy abruptly losing his family and his wealth in one day. He had all four things of those essentials shaken, Wonder, Truth, Love, Security. However, He was restored. One of the statements he made that really has stuck with me is this: My ears have heard but now my eyes have seen.

What did he see? I believe he saw the restoration of Hope. I believe he received back his  sense of wonder, truth, love, and security. Why ? Because He trusted in God. The tension between his trust in God and the pain he was going through was able to be dealt with properly because he had seen the Lord’s care. We must believe That God exists and that he is a rewarder of those who diligently seek him. We must resolve to never give up! We must resolve that we will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.

We need to find ways to live in and rediscover wonder, truth, love and security. The Sabbath is a reflection of so many attributes and characteristics of God. For me the Sabbath is a time when I set a whole day aside to not worry about anything. I agree we are never supposed to worry but this is where I am presently. It is a time when I rediscover God as my sense of peace in the midst of activity. I become more aware of His love, goodness, wisdom, holiness and sovereignty. I allow myself to rest physically, emotionally and spiritually. I allow myself to just enjoy my friends and family. I rest and rediscover my sense of wonder, truth-trust, love and security.

God loves broken people and he doesn’t expect perfection from me. If you are searching for some hope or for some sense of comfort I would point you to the  Word of God, the Bible/Torah. God has an expected end for you. Jeremiah 29:11. His mercy endures forever! If we are really serving God then there is never a time where we se ourselves going down and staying down. I don’t know how God is going to do it but I know what ever I commit to God he will take care of for me. I can not go down, I can not be defeated, because I know all things work together for the good of those who love the Lord and are called according to his purpose.

Some resources I would recommend destinychurch.com We have services tonight at destinychurchlive.com. Please stop in and check us out. We are about loving people.

Also Sheila Walsh‘s book God loves Broken People, Margaret Feinberg’s book Wonder Struck: Awaken to the nearness of GOD-www.margaretfeinberg.com  and Restoration Ministries by Steve roll http://www.srrestore.org/

Whatever you do DON’T GIVE UP!!!

#liveWONDERSTRUCK

Cynthia

2 Comments

Filed under Guidance

2 responses to “Never Give Up!

  1. so proud of you for not giving up! #LIVEWONDERSTRUCK! (love the photo–made me chuckle–it’s perfect)

Leave a Reply

