Mercy please!

I was thinking today about Mercy. It is something we so often want but we so often don’t give it to others. It seems  treated like an expensive commodity these days. The Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary defines Mercy as “kindness in excess of what maybe expected or demanded by fairness; a disposition to forgive; forbearance and compassion.” So a practical application would be if I know my friend needs a cup of coffee, I stop on my way to see her and buy her a Starbucks coffee. This simple act of kindness is sowing mercy.

The greek word for mercy is eleos. W.E. Vine’s Expository Dictionary defines eleos as “the outward manifestation of compassion;it assumes need on the part the person who receives it, and resources adequate to meet the need on the part of the person who shows it.”

In his Devotional Word Studies, Dick Mills brings out the following points while quoting other writers: Mercy is “…. Compassionate to those in trouble, even if their trouble is their own foolish making.” (C. Leslie Mittion).

I was thinking of my own definitions of mercy. When we go out of our way to do something for someone, without them asking us to do it, that is mercy. I have come to realize that one of my gifts is the gift of mercy. I have discovered it by looking at my pet peeves. I often get upset when i see others not treating peo-ple with mercy or when I don’t receive the mercy I think I deserve. Especially when I know I have shown it .  I however, more times than not,I am asked why did you do that?,What do I expect to get from it? Or what do I want?. We have become a cynical society in many ways. Always questioning the motives of others ands yet not understanding why our motives are being questioned. Seed-time and harvest is always in operation regardless of whether we choose to believe it or not. I have often been bit by the misconceptions that others have about of my acts of kindness, and I am sure you have as well. I want to urge you to not let your love grow cold.

God‘s grace gives us what we do not deserve, while God’s mercy does not give us what we do deserve. A simple act of kindness is mercy. I want to challenge you today to stir up the mercy inside of you. Do a kind deed toward someone. Make the world you are living in just a little better today.

Make it a great day! 

Cynthia

W.E.Vine, An Expository Dictionary of New Testament Words (old Tappan, New Jersey:Fleming H. Revell Company), Vol. 3 p. 60

Dick Mills, Devotional Word Studies (Hemet, California: Dick Mills Ministries), p. 3

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mercy please!

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

